Around 12 years ago, a guy called Patrick thought we should have an art prize for up and coming Tasmanian artists. Patrick had a quiet word with David. David offered $8,000, and the Mona Scholarship was born. Someone else called Jim ran the show for a while. After a couple of years the prize was upped to $12,500, then $15,000, and Lindy got involved. As of 2012, Mona has given 14 artists $175,000.

    Emerging Tasmanian artists apply to Mona for the $15,000 prize. The money is used to buy materials and equipment for an exhibition at Mona 12 months after receiving the Scholarship. The exhibition is held at the Mona Library Gallery, and Mona selects one piece for their permanent collection. The remainder of the works can be sold to the public, with the artist keeping the profit.

    Alternating images from:
    'The Three Ages of Woman' by Sonia Heap.
    Images © Peter White
    'A Composition of Ideas: Reflective Space for the Player Piano' by Cath Robinson.
    Images © Peter Angus Robinson
    2010 Scholarship Winners.




    The 2014 scholarship application will be available from October. The delay is due to major restructuring on the ground floor (B3), which will limit public access. The exhibition of the 2013 winner, Rahni Allen, will now open in December, and the 2014 winner will be announced at the opening.  

    Rahni is a multi-media artist from Hobart and graduate of the Tasmanian School of Art, and the first artist to benefit from more prize money. Previously winners received $12,500, but from 2013 they will receive $15000. Lucky Rahni, thanks David.

    2013 was a bumper season for applicants; almost 100 applied from north, south, east and west Tasmania, and eight artists were shortlisted. 

    There are some talented people in Tassie. 

    Check back in October for details of the 2014 Mona Scholarship applications. 




    Send the stuff below to the address below:

    1. The completed and signed entry form (available in 2013).

    2. A proposal - what you would do with the Scholarship money (less than 300 words). Being original is a good idea. Radical is also good. Crazy is not so good.

    3. A Curriculum Vitae - what is your background, what kind of experience have you had? (Keep this short - no autobiographies).

    4. Six recent examples of your work, preferably on CD or DVD. However, photocopies are fine.
    Don't send original works, there are no returns.

    5. We don't accept late applications.

    6. We don't accept emailed applications.

    7. The winner for 2014 will be announced at Rahni Allen's opening exhibition. All applicants are welcome to attend. An email will be sent, in the days following the opening, advising applicants of the winner.



    For more information contact:
    Lindy-Lou Bateman


    Applications can be posted or delivered by hand to Mona at the following addresses:

    The Mona Scholarship
    Lindy-Lou Bateman
    655 Main Road
    Berriedale, 7011

    Front counter, Museum of Old and New Art:
    Front counter, Ether Building:
    Front counter, Accounts Department:
    655 Main Road, Berriedale, Tasmania 7011



    1. THERE IS NO CASH. The money is for making art - equipment, materials, framing, etc. (what you buy will be relative to the style of art you make)

    2. If you're a full time under-grad or post-grad student, sorry, you can't apply

    3. We don't cover any classes, courses or study

    4. We don't cover travel

    5. We don't supply credit cards

    6. You need to tell us about any awards, bursaries, prizes, allowances, residencies, scholarships, study or travel you will be taking in 2014 - 2015

    7. You should have lived in Tasmania for at least 12 months before applying. If you win, your permanent residential address must be in Tasmania for the following 12 months

    8. You may live interstate, but consider yourself Tasmanian. That's nice, but you can't apply

    9. If you have a relationship with a commercial gallery, tell them that you're applying for the Scholarship BEFORE you apply

    10. One piece from the exhibition will be selected for Mona's permanent collection

    11. You should be available for quarterly reviews if you win

    12. You'll be advised by email if you win

    13. The Judge's decision is final. No feedback can be given on individual applications



    2001: PHAEDRA BROTHERS - Painter
    2002: ANDREW EVANS - Sculptor
    2003: KATHRYN FALUDI BALL - Photographer
    2004: PHILIP MCKAY - Painter
    2005: ALAN YOUNG - Painter
    2007: REBECCA COOTE - Sculptor, glass
    2007: ROB O'CONNOR - Painter
    2008: ALICIA KING - Bio-artist
    2008: JAMES NEWITT - Time Based Media
    2009: SARA WRIGHT - Ceramicist
    2009: JUDITH ABELL - Sculptor
    2010: CATH ROBINSON - Installation/Sound artist
    2010: SONIA HEAP - Installation artist working in dress
    2011: ALYSSA SIMONE - Digital Media
    2012: PIP STAFFORD - Media artist
    2013: RAHNI ALLAN - Multimedia artist